A Shift in Perspective

Sometimes, you need a friend who knows you well enough to remind you of who you are.

Lately, I have felt like I am in one of those Whack-a-Mole games, and I am the mole. Every time I gather enough courage to stick my head out and try again, something, usually someONE whacks me on the head to put me in my place.

So, you need a friend who will sit with you and agree that sometimes life sucks.

You need a friend to remind you that what others say about you is none of your business.

You need a friend to remind you that even if you make mistakes, we all do, and it’s part of growing and learning.

You need a friend to remind you that others may not be ready on your timeline.

You need a friend to remind you that your contributions are valued, and you make a difference.

You need a friend to remind you that you are significant, just as you are.

You need a friend to remind you to rest and laugh.

You need a friend to remind you that you don’t have to carry every responsibility by yourself.

You need a friend to remind you that you’re on the front lines of the battle, and that’s where people get hurt.

You need a friend to remind you to keep returning to the source of your strength.

Sometimes, I need a friend to help me shift my perspective. Oh, I just found chocolate in the fridge! Sometimes it can shift my perspective too!

3 thoughts on “A Shift in Perspective

  1. The repetition of “you need a friend to…” is powerful. Hope you have someone like that! In the meantime, chocolate definitely can help as a substitute. You’ve alluded to doing some powerful work that definitely deserves support!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My grandmother use to say, “If you have one true friend, you’re lucky.” We don’t need a ton of friends, just a handful – or even one, that can “shift our perspective!” This is a great list to remind us what frienship really is about.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started