A Dash of Christmas Seasoning

I watched a Christmas movie tonight.

Actually, I watched two, one right after the other.

I know that Christmas has been and gone, but I like the feelings that come with the Christmas season. Not the busyness, the shopping, the too-much-food; I seem to be able to manage those at any time of the year! No, I love the extra flavour that comes, and is welcome, when we think of Christmas.

Even in Christmas movies, things do not go according to plan. There is always an obstacle, some misunderstanding, some challenge to overcome. It might be a snowstorm. It might be an accident or being in the wrong place at the wrong time. Sometimes, it is just our own obstinance or pride that gets in the way of all things merry and bright. But in a Christmas movie, we know there is always the promise of a happy ending. In a Christmas movie, extra seasoning is expected, and hoped for, and welcomed.

At no other time of year are we so delighted by twinkling, shiny things. We recall when we last heard the carols sung. We welcome toasty fireplaces in the middle of the Australian summer heat. We want the hand-written notes to be found, the secret love revealed, the happy families reunited for warm hugs and shared meals.

It’s a time to let the grudges go and let guards down. It’s a time to try a little harder, stay a little longer and dig a little deeper for the things that once were lost. A Christmas movie beckons change through seasoning of great tidings, good cheer, silver bells and silent nights. Seasonings of peace on the earth, good will to men, joy to the world and a baby in a manger. It is pause from all that is in the world to all that could, and should, be.

I watched a Christmas movie tonight.

Actually, I watched two, one right after the other.

I had a taste for Christmas seasoning, and I choose to spread it liberally throughout the year.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started