Live as Though You’re Loved

This stage of my life seems to be uncovering one life secret after another. I don’t know if it is just something that accompanies the first fine lines and grey hairs, or if I am just a little slow in the uptake. Either way, it would have been good to have discovered them earlier, but for now, I’ll appreciate the fact that I have discovered them at all.

The latest secret is about holding and keeping the happiness and contentment in our lives. It doesn’t take too much for me to lose sight of mine. Life this side of heaven’s gates is pretty messy, and when we shake our hands and feet to try to get some of it off, we invariably fling it upon other parts of the body or even other people. Both are hard to live with.

I’ve thought about the times when I feel most happy and content. Easy; they are the times when I have felt most loved. The little things that remind you that you are significant turn out to be the big things.

Who do you run to and excitedly exclaim, “You’ll never guess what happened to me today?”

Who notices when you are tired and offers a cup of hot tea and a warm hug?

Who tucks the blanket over your toes when you fall asleep on the couch?

Who takes your hand and says, “Come and see this!”

Who hands you some little trinket, saying, “I thought of you when I saw this.”

Who notices when you are quiet, and offers to listen?

Who remembers the exact date of your birthday and your favourite sweet treat?

Who can’t wait to see you when the holidays come around?

Who cries out, “Look at me! Look at me!”

Who snuggles in and whispers, “I like the way you smell.”

Who walks faster the closer they get to you?

Who catches your eye across the room, and smiles?

The answer to each question, and so, so many more, is evidence of love, and a gift to the heart.

I lose sight of my answers from time to time. Some live far away, some have left this earth. Some no longer want to be an answer and some can’t find their own. When I can find my answers, I am happy. I am free and joyous. I give so much more to those around me and I like who I am. Other times? Not so much.

But I have figured out the secret. In those times when I cannot feel it, I just live as though I’m loved.

3 thoughts on “Live as Though You’re Loved

  1. Oh, I just love this so much!!! Using questions in this slice caused me to stop and answer for myself. This is not only an amazing slice but it is also such a great exercise in priorities and in who are the important people for the reader. Love love love this!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. What a wonderful mantra to hold onto: “Live as though you are loved”. I love your post simply for that, but I also love that list of questions: “Who…” and this metaphor: “Life this side of heaven’s gates is pretty messy, and when we shake our hands and feet to try to get some of it off, we invariably fling it upon other parts of the body or even other people. ‘ What a fun read today!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I may just print and hold on to this slice and reread it often to remind me what really is important in our lives. You are such an amazing observer, thinker and writer! I love how you share what true happiness is for you (and most of us). One year I kept a “Happiness Journal,” to try to discover what really make me happy. It’s hard to acknowledge one moment in a day that makes you feel happy. One realization I found in the excercise was that I’m happy when I’m talking with people who challenge my thinking. It makes me feel alive. Happiness is so important and from your slice I realize it’s in the little things that really matter. Thanks for sharing your thoughts Kim!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started