My Turn Signal Knows

Whether you call it a clicker, an indicator or a turn signal, there is something uniquely special about mine. It knows exactly what I need and subtly speaks to my consciousness.

I was a little later than I wanted to be. It was hard to get out of bed after the night before. No, it was not a night of play and mischief, not on a school night! Instead, I untangled numeral and alphabet fine-motor lace-ups while editing and uploading five videos to YouTube in preparation for the next mission trip. Each one took seemingly forever, as it first went to its hidden home in the sky and then ‘processed’, whatever that means! Oh, I also read the next chapter about the Sabbath and Relationships to be ready for the next Ladies’ Connect Group and did three loads of laundry. Did I say I didn’t want to get out of bed?

Driving to work, the melody suddenly appeared in my head. I have been leaving the radio switched off and my Spotify disconnected from my bluetooth so that I have more empty space in my head. I want more time to ponder thoughts, more time to talk with God, more time to just listen without anything competing for a place on the complicated motorway inside my head. This morning, I listened and heard in a way I hadn’t expected.

Along a straight piece of road, a melody appeared.

“Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord. We will wait upon the Lord, we will wait upon the Lord.”

Where did that come from? There it is again!

“Our God, he reigns forever. Our hope, our strong deliverer.”

I pulled up to the next set of lights and flicked the turn signal to let any behind me know that I was heading to the right. And then I heard it!

Da-da-da. Da-da-da. Da-da-da.

Da-da-da. Da-da-da.

Da-da-da. Da-da-da.

My turn signal accompanied me as the song in my head began again. “Strength will rise as we wait upon the Lord. Da-da-da. Da-da-da, we will wait upon the Lord.”

The light was still red, so I allowed my thoughts to review and check. Is that where the melody came from? Did my turn signal know something? Yes, I used the signal turning out of my street, and then again onto Jones Road, and then again entering this one. Three times, my turn signal had subtly suggested a melody, and I finally heard it on the third attempt.

“We will wait upon the Lord, we will wait upon the Lord.”

Did my turn signal know? Or was God giving me a gentle nudge?

As I made the right turn onto the main road leading to work, a sad thought struck. I picked up that melody after hearing the rhythm three times. How many times has God tried to speak to me, and I haven’t yet ‘heard’?

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started